Persimmon Pulp Goodness

As a self-proclaimed food snob, I didn’t think I’d come across anything new to eat in Nashville, Indiana. It’s a character flaw. So I strut into town thinking I’m all that when I am stopped dead in my pretentious tracks by a persimmon.

Strolling past Miller’s Ice Cream House my friend and I were confronted by a  little sign that got our attention with the words “homemade persimmon pudding.”  Actually those words got my friend’s attention. I was distracted by the giant ice cream cone; it doesn’t take much. As soon as I read “persimmon” the word hung, falsely remembered for a moment, as I realized I didn’t know what a persimmon was.

We were happy to learn that Miller’s Ice Cream House also makes persimmon ice cream. (duh)   So, for the sake of this very blog post, we taste-tested this wonderful treat consisting of persimmon pudding, persimmon ice cream and vanilla ice cream.

The pudding tasted a little bit like pumpkin pie because of the way it was seasoned.  It had the consistency of bread pudding and turned out to be a great compliment to the ice cream.  The persimmon ice cream was very delicate and tasted like sweet squash mixed with sweet cream, but it was not overly sweetened.  It had a refreshing and subtle flavor that didn’t linger on my tongue.  It was weird and delicious like how I imagine unicorn meat would taste like.

Persimmons are a native Indiana fruit. Who knew? Miller’s uses local Indiana persimmon pulp for both the pudding and ice cream (they use fresh ingredients in their other flavors too). Using the original ice cream machine they started the business with in 1970, Miller’s cranks out gallons of gourmet ice cream sometimes daily. It’s worth the visit just to be surprised and in some cases, like mine, to be humbled.

About tinspring

Blogger, marketer, social media enthusiast, wife, mother, friend, secret geek - not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

