My First Dietary Cleanse

IMG_2417

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when my friend and health coach Julie Viellieu suggested that I take a four day cleanse.  A bout of inactivity due to a new job, not only slowed me down but changed how I was eating on a daily basis; I cooked and exercised less and it didn’t feel good.

A cleanse is like a dietary do-over.  It gives your digestive system an opportunity to heal. There are many cleanses out there claiming to do everything from promote weight loss to balancing chakras. I don’t know what a chakra is but I did like the idea of detoxifying my gut and maybe losing a couple of pounds along the way. Julie assured me that weight loss was not the main by product of  this cleanse. She was right, it was so much more.

After four day of cleanse, I benefited in the following ways:

  • I didn’t crave sugar
  • I didn’t feel hungry between meals
  • I slept better
  • I was hydrated
  • I lost a couple of pounds (again not the goal, but still nice)

I’m not going to recreate the cleanse here but you can visit Julie’s video blog for a peek into Day 1 instructions. I reconnected with how my body relates to food and that information is invaluable in moving forward with my health goals.  Short of obvious unhealthy habits like eating cake everyday, I believe most of us are unaware of the affect our food choices have on our bodies. A cleanse is an excellent way to begin new healthy habits.

I’ll leave you with Julie Viellieu’s yummy recipe for kitchari.

1 cup uncooked split yellow mung beans
1/2 cup white basmati rice uncooked
1 Tbsp fresh ginger root
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
1/2 tsp coriander powder
1/2 tsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
2 bay leaves
1/2 tsp sea salt
8 cups of water
Fresh Cilantro

Wash the split yellow mung beans and rice together until water runs clear. Heat a large pot on medium heat and add all spices (except bay leaves) and dry roast for a few minutes. Add mung beans and rice and stir again. Add water and bay leaves and fresh ginger root, bring to boil. Boil for 10 minutes. Turn heat to low, cover and cook until beans become soft (approx. 30 minutes). Add salt to taste.

 

 

About tinspring

Blogger, marketer, social media enthusiast, wife, mother, friend, secret geek - not always in that order.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

